Inspired by the format in which Tennessee Williams and Eugene O’Neill honed their craft, EST held its first Marathon in 1977. Praised by critics and beloved by audiences, it launched an industry-wide revival of the short play form and broke new ground by putting new and established writers together on one stage. David Mamet, Tina Howe, Julia Cho, Qui Nguyen and John Guare have all premiered new work at the festival. Who will you discover this year?

SERIES A May 14 - June 5

Series A includes new plays by France-Luce Benson*, Maggie Diaz Bofill*, Cary Gitter, Emily Chadick Weiss*, and David Zellnik*. NY Times Critic's Pick!

SERIES B may 28 - June 26

Series B includes new plays by Christina Gorman, Christopher Shinn, Julia Specht, Lloyd Suh*, and Leah Nanako Winkler*.

SERIES C June 10 - June 30

Series C includes new plays by Zakiyyah Alexander, Edith Freni, Amy Fox*, Donald Marcus*, and Elyzabeth Gregory Wilder.

Marathon Play Submission Guidelines

Submissions for the 2019 Marathon of One Act Plays will be accepted from September 1, 2018 through October 15, 2018. Non-member playwrights may submit a single script, no longer than 40 pages, which has not been reviewed in New York. We prefer email submissions, which can be sent to Please include your name and contact information in the body of your email but send the script without identifying information.
*Indicates Ensemble Artist