EST has presented the Marathon, its celebrated festival of new one-act plays, for over 30 years. It is the longest-running, most celebrated one-act play festival in the country.  Playwrights presented include David Auburn*, Leslie Ayvazian*, Horton Foote*, Tina Howe*, Shirley Lauro*, Romulus Linney*, David Mamet*, Cassandra Medley*, Jacquelyn Reingold*, José Rivera*, Cori Thomas,* and John Patrick Shanley*, among many others.

The marathon is now presented every other season.

Marathon Play Submission Guidelines

Submissions for the 2019 Marathon of One Act Plays will be accepted from September 1, 2018 through October 15, 2018. Non-member playwrights may submit a single script, no longer than 40 pages, which has not been reviewed in New York. We prefer email submissions, which can be sent to Please include your name and contact information in the body of your email but send the script without identifying information.

*Indicates Ensemble Artist