Marathon of One-Act Plays

This year, 2014 EST will not participate in a festival of One Act Plays due to the scheduling for the season.

Join us for the next One-Act Marathon in the Spring of 2015


EST’s flagship festival of new one-act plays, has played semi-annually at EST for over 30 years and proves to be the longest running and most acclaimed one-act play festival in the country. Past playwrights have included David Auburn*, Leslie Ayvazian*, Horton Foote*, Tina Howe*, Shirley Lauro*, Romulus Linney*, David Mamet*, Cassandra Medley*, Jacquelyn Reingold*, José Rivera*, and John Patrick Shanley*, among many others.


Submission Guidelines:

EST will be accepting submissions for the 2014 Marathon of One Act Plays from September 1st  – October 15th  2014. Non-member playwrights may submit a single script, no longer than 40 pages, which has not been reviewed in New York. We prefer e-mail submissions, which can be sent to literary@ensemblestudiotheatre.org. Please include your name and contact information in the body of your e-mail but send the script without identifying information. We will notify all applicants once final decisions have been made no later than April of 2013.

View Mobile Site