Join artists & honorary guests for special benefit performances of the 36th Marathon of One-Act Plays

Come celebrate the premiere of fifteen new short plays and support the work of EST at three special benefit performances!

Your ticket includes drinks and heavy hors d'oeuvres during the show, followed by a dessert reception with that evening's playwrights, directors, and casts. Also present will be legendary theater artists who have graced the EST stage throughout our history, including Lois Smith*, David Auburn*, and Jerry Zaks*!

Series A - Wednesday, May 17th, 6:30pm
                 With honorary guest Lois Smith*

Series B - Thursday, June 1st, 6:30pm
                 With Honorary Guest David Auburn*

Series C - Wednesday, June 14th, 6:30pm
                 With Honorary guest Jerry Zaks*

Tickets are $100 per performance and $75 of that price is tax-deductible. Don't miss this chance to celebrate the short play form in style with the artists that have embraced it, all in support of the Ensemble Studio Theatre.

Have a question? Contact Development Manager Aaron Hock at

Honorary Guests:

Lois Smith* is a winner of Obie, Outer Critics Circle, Drama Desk, and Lucille Lortel awards and is a two-time Tony Award nominee. She is a member of the American Theatre Hall of Fame, and in 2013 received the Lifetime Achievement Obie Award for her excellence in Off-Broadway theater. She has appeared on film and television in East of Eden, True Blood, and Marjorie Prime among others. Her Broadway and Off-Broadway credits include The Glass Menagerie with Helen Hayes, Buried Child, John, and The Trip to Bountiful. She is an EST Ensemble Artist and last appeared here in a reading of Eric Conger's Beautiful Boy.

David Auburn* is a playwright, director, and screenwriter. He won the Pulitzer Prize and the Tony Award for Best Play for Proof, adapted into a 2005 Golden Globe-nominated film. He penned the screenplay for the 2006 film The Lake House. He is the recipient of the Helen Merrill Playwriting Award, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and the Kesselring Prize. Most recently at EST his play Amateurs was part of the 2010 Marathon of One-Act Plays. He is an EST Ensemble Artist.

Jerry Zaks* has won five Tony Awards for his direction of The House of Blue LeavesLend Me A TenorSix Degrees of Separation, and Guys and Dolls. This year he is nominated for his direction of Hello Dolly!, also directing the Broadway premiere of A Bronx Tale alongside Robert De Niro. He is a member of the American Theater Hall of Fame, and in 1994 received the George Abbott Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theater. Originally an actor, Zaks began his directing career after meeting Christopher Durang at EST. Zaks is a founding member of the Ensemble Studio Theatre and serves on the Board of Directors.

*Denotes Ensemble Artist